San Ignacio Public Library

Today I joined the public library around the corner from my apartment. It’s little and sweet. Their book collection is small, but I found some new (to me) stuff to read and saw some novels by Toni Morrison and Joyce Carol Oates, so it’s good enough for me. It cost $15BZ to join for the first year, and after that I’ll be eligible for the yearly $3BZ fee for residents. I get my library card in about a week. Hanging out in bookstores is one of the things I love to do in a new town. Sadly, San Ignacio doesn’t have a bookstore. I only shipped about 10 of my most-loved books from New York (it was so hard to choose!), and after finishing a book Jamaul lent me about Garifuna culture in Belize, I’m ready to get back into a regular bookworm reading schedule. Right after joining the library I was able to start borrowing books, and even though I saw some I haven’t read before I decided to start with one of my favorites which I love to re-read: Have you read this? If you haven’t, you really should. It’s one of the most beautiful novels I’ve ever read, and I always cry at the end. And Arundhati Roy is a kick-ass activist and all-around dope and powerful woman. I’m looking forward to reading this out on my balcony or down by the river. One of my favorite things about the library is this: Old-school stamped borrowing cards. So incredibly charming.

Hi there...

