Morning

Folks, I have become a morning person.

I know, I know… it’s shocking. I can hardly believe it myself. For those of you who are morning people I know this isn’t a big deal, but y’all who’ve known me for a while are aware that waking up early is something I’ve struggled with my whole life. Getting me out of bed before 9 used to require nothing short of physical harm, but now I am awake every morning by 7. On my own. Without an alarm. And it’s changed my life.

I can’t take all the credit for this astounding transformation. The sun comes streaming through my bedroom window at 6 a.m. like “GOOD MORNING!” every day. Since our apartment is right in the middle of town, it’s pretty busy by 7 with stores opening and taxis pulling through and the man selling “ICE COLD SEAWEED!” on his cart in his very loud outside voice. By 9 a.m., it’s poppin’. Since it’s so hot here and gets dark by 7 in the evening, everything happens very early in the day and starts winding down by the afternoon. It’s a totally different rhythm than I was used to living in New York.

One of the things I love about waking up early is how peaceful and quiet it is. Sometimes I wake up feeling a bit anxious or unsettled about things – dealing with immigration, how to get a work permit, figuring out the best way to start my practice, whether there’s a huge bug waiting for me in the bathroom. Once I decide not to sit in those thoughts and get my butt out of bed, my mind starts to calm down. The morning is soft and fresh, and it’s nice to have a routine that gets my day started – drinking water, shuffling my tarot cards and pulling one to reflect on, sitting on the balcony in the sun, writing in my journal and having some Guatemalan coffee (I shipped my French press from NYC – yeah!).

The view from my kitchen window while I’m making coffee

It’s also really satisfying how much I can get out of the day when I start early. Seriously guys, it’s a whole new world.

Hi there...

