Feeling Like A Local

Yesterday I went to Belize City to meet my friends Fran and Greg, who were in town just for the day. They were new to Belize and I was playing host, which was kind of cool because it was the first time I felt like I finally have a sense of how to get around the neighborhood on my own and have been to enough spots to make suggestions.

Fran and Greg were flexible and we only had a few hours so I took them to a restaurant I like that’s on the sea. We ate and drank and had a great time. And as I talked to them about my life here and what I’ve been up to, I realized that I’ve lived here for eight months and I actually have quite a bit to share about it. I felt like a local.

After we parted with hugs and hopes of them visiting again soon, I decided to hang for a bit by myself before walking to the bus terminal and heading back to San Ignacio. I stopped by the Image Factory Art Foundation, talking for a while with the woman who was working in the bookshop, and found one copy of a book I’ve been dying to read – A Brief History Of Seven Killings by Marlon James. I bought a drink in a bar a few doors down that I’d been to before, and sat out back by the water, overlooking the harbor. It was late afternoon, folks were out and about, and the sun was low, casting a golden light over the city swaying to reggae and soca wafting out of shops and cars.

It was a good day.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Like A Local

Hi there...

