“Summertime” In Belize

watermelon drinkSeeing as how Belize only has two seasons – rainy and dry – and it’s hot and tropical all year-round, it feels a little silly to refer to July and August as “Summer.” But there is a shift – the kids are getting out of school, folks are taking vacation time, and everyone is talking about these next couple months as “Summer,” so I will too.

Part of it is that I am longing for a vacation myself. As June comes to a close and we officially enter the mid-year phase (already? how?!), I feel myself wanting  to lay on a beach somewhere, cocktail in hand, with nothing to do and nowhere to go. Another part is that this is when summer really starts in New York, and all those years of taking time off from work, doing outdoorsy things (picnics and brunch, anyone?), heading to the beach and traveling really stuck with me. While the last couple of months have been productive and I’ve made a lot of progress in my work and professional life, I’ve also been juggling a lot and would love to get up in some water and just chill.

So I will find a happy medium – making time to get to the river and the sea, enjoying the beauty of the lush green jungle around me that is even more vibrant during the rainy season (I will never get used to flying cockroaches, though!), and having a nice, fruity drink on this fine Friday evening. Al fresco.

Save

Save

Hi there...

