40

palm tree in caye caulkerOn Wednesday I turned 40. My sister and a bunch of girlfriends came down to Belize from New York to celebrate with me for a week, and they rented a house in Caye Caulker. We played in the pool, swam in the sea, ate, drank, danced, sang songs and had an awesome time. It was fun and relaxing and silly, and just what I needed. It was exactly how I wanted to spend my birthday.

Spending time with my girls was priceless. So was having a true week off – no work, writing or emails, no strategizing or focusing on my business. I took a break from my routine, took naps, and took some space. It was heavenly. And it was right where I needed to be as I enter this next decade of my life – feeling free. My 40s are about doing what I want to do.

I’m still coming down from my vacation high. As I wash the salt water and chlorine from my hair, and slowly ease into this next cycle of work and life, I’m taking my time. Even with all the fun and fabulous shenanigans, there was reflection. Rather than rushing back into business as usual, I’m letting myself absorb and receive the insights and understandings that came to me. From the ladies who love me, from slowing down, from the sea.

Happy birthday to me.

Save

2 thoughts on “40

Hi there...

