Holding, Healing, Releasing: Full Moon In Taurus

seashore

I spent the weekend at home writing a research report about the needs of lesbian and bisexual women in Belize. It took a tremendous amount of effort. For days since the election results I couldn’t find the mental or emotional energy to do much beyond the basics. But yesterday I was grateful to have that report to focus on. It reminded me of who I am, what I value, and why I do the work I do.

Here in Belize I have some distance from events in the States but still feel the impact, especially the fear, anger and sadness from people I love. I’ve been wanting to hold them, to listen, to support however I can. As I’m reflecting on their struggles and wishing for their safety, I feel gratitude for the location of my own queer, black woman body in a country I move through without fear.

I recognize the privilege in being able to say that; as painful as it is to have my sexual identity dismissed or denied, I’m aware of the access to safety afforded me as a cis woman in a relationship with a cis man. Still, I am a woman and navigate sexism and patriarchy wherever I go. And though I feel closer to it in Belize, I’ve been seeking safety all my life.

This is what must be healed. This is why I work for the safety of others, so that we may all be safe.

The full moon in Taurus reminds me to honor what I have and what I am building, to continue creating space for others so that we may all thrive. This is a time for expansion of what keeps us grounded and nourished. I’m holding on to love, to the support and care that sustains me. There’s work to do.

Save

Save

Hi there...

