A Movement

from the Image Factory 20-year anniversary
From the 20-year anniversary of the Image Factory Art Foundation in Belize City, 2015

It’s been a rough few days. I’ve been feeling more sensitive than usual which, as an empath, means I’ve been feeling all the things. Even from here in my quiet home in Belize, I felt the intense energy leading up to the inauguration, not just from others but within myself as well. Anxiety, frustration, loss. I’m still processing all that happened for me personally in 2016, which is working its way through. And we just found out we have to move again. Everything all at once. 

I read a lot of updates from folks who were marching on Saturday. Many women and men I know were out in the streets, showing their solidarity with global human rights. This is what I remind myself of when I read white women’s complaints on Twitter about how black women are being divisive by pointing out ways the Women’s March centered whiteness over other marginalized groups. I see so many women of color still having to defend, explain, educate. We’re all so tired.

I felt frustrated on Saturday that there was no march or movement for women happening here in Belize that I could participate in. I wondered why Belizeans weren’t in the streets marching in solidarity for global human rights, resisting against the oppression and bigotry so openly perpetuated by this administration. Then I realized I could have started something here if I wanted to. Maybe I should have.

The sadness is heavy right now. But I know a shift is happening.

Here’s the other thing I know: I have a choice.

I can choose to release the heaviness of these feelings and channel my frustration and anger into doing the work that needs to be done. I can choose to connect with the love in my heart and in my life. I can choose to keep moving forward.

It all doesn’t stop here. In spite of our feelings – our anger, our rage, our despair – we must keep going. We have a choice.

So today I choose to use my self-care practice to ease out of this emotional state and get back to the business of being of service, making art, showing up and creating space.

We’ve all got work to do.

Take care of yourselves, y’all.

Hi there...

