How To Let Go: Full Moon In Virgo

 

looking out from the deck
photo by Charrice Talbert

For the past two days I’ve been making big pots of curry. Everything gets chopped up on the wooden cutting board and separated into bowls on the kitchen counter – garlic and ginger, onions and peppers, potatoes, eggplant, carrots, cabbage. The aromatics are sautéed in olive oil with sea salt, black pepper, turmeric, cardamom and curry powders. Slowly, mindfully, methodically. The concrete brings comfort. 

Following months of planning, planting and sowing, I’m celebrating the expansiveness of this lunar cycle and all the work I’ve put into creating a fulfilling life. The full moon in Virgo finds me connecting with the mundane, seeking grounding through the quotidian tasks of chopping, sweeping, sifting, clearing. Leaning into the satisfaction of a simple job well done. Tending to the needs of the body. Remembering that the foundation of a life well-lived is built on taking care, day by day.

Flowing this way is necessary now, as I’ve exhausted myself with keeping all the balls in the air. I had to let some fall. I had to remember there is no ball.

The lesson I keep coming back to: Know when enough is enough.

We moved last week into our new place, a lovely home shared with queer, artsy friends and fat, lazy cats. Our housemates also run the new art space in town, which is a gift and where I recently performed for the first time in six months. After a long period of not knowing what was next or where to land, I finally arrived at surrender and gave up trying to force, fix, control. I opened myself to receiving what is offered. And here I am.

The hardest part of release is trust. Letting go of attachment to the outcome. Allowing myself to have faith in the path of least resistance. Believing that there is something better waiting on the other side.

 

 

 

 

Hi there...

