I Am The Lovers @ LAB4

LAB4 photo by Briheda Haylock
photo by Briheda Haylock

Last week I performed a new piece at the Image Factory Art Foundation in Belize City. It was part of LAB4, a two-week experimental art space created and curated by Katie Numi Usher. This is the fourth year of the LAB and I’ve been so grateful to be a part of the last two installments of this project. It’s been a huge part of my creative process here in Belize, as it’s challenged me to make something new every year. It’s also been awesome to be part of a project which features the work of so many great artists in Belize. 

The piece I created and performed was I Am The Lovers: A Healing Ritual of the Tarot, a ritual performance which explores the duality of The Lovers card. The idea came out of my growing connection to the tarot over the years as part of my spiritual practice, and the LAB was the perfect opportunity to play and try out making some art around some of the themes I’ve been exploring in my practice. It’s a piece I think I want to expand and create more work around, and I’ll be performing it again at the Wildfire art space in town this weekend.

You can check out my performance and the work of other artists in LAB4 at the Image Factory website, here. And my blog posts about my performances in LAB2 and LAB3 are here and here.

Many thanks to Katie Numi Usher for offering this project, and to Yasser Musa and Briheda Haylock for documenting the work.

LAB4 photo by Briheda Haylock
photo by Briheda Haylock
LAB4 photo by Briheda Haylock
photo by Briheda Haylock
LAB4 photo by Yasser Musa
photo by Yasser Musa
LAB4 photo by Yasser Musa
photo by Yasser Musa
Hi there...

